Awards Committee

The Awards Committee will consist of no fewer than three (3) and no more than seven (7) members, with regional representation, representing all membership levels, who will be appointed for staggered three-year terms. Whenever possible, previous Award winners will be asked to serve on the committee. Its function is to select the recipients of the awards in the following categories: Outstanding Social Studies Classroom Teacher Awards for the elementary, middle school and high school levels, Susan Wasserman Young Professional Memorial Award, Distinguished Educator, John Roy Continuing Service Awards, and the Benita Jaworsky Outstanding College Educator Memorial Award. These awards will be given on the basis of statewide nominations. It may also award a Special Service Award for service to NYSCSS. Nominations for this award are recommended by any member of the Board of Directors.  Duties of the Awards Committee include:

  1. Generally oversee the council’s award program to recognize and promote significant contributions to and excellence in social studies.
  2. Solicit applications for council awards and recommend award recipients in the various categories to the Executive Committee.
  3. Coordinate awards presentations at the annual convention.
  4. Encourage public awareness of the social studies through announcement and publicizing of winners using TIME & PLACE and other media.
  5. Oversee the submission of state award recipients for national competition where appropriate.
  6. Submit vouchers for monetary awards to the Executive Secretary prior to the convention
  7. Develop a program listing the award recipients for the Awards Dinner.
  8. Insure that award plaques are ordered in a timely manner.

Chair:  Laura Mecca-Retzlaff,

For more information on NYSCSS Awards, please contact Laura Mecca-Retzlaff

Copyright New York State Council for the Social Studies

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software