New York State Social Studies Supervisory Association

The New York Social Studies Supervisory Association (NYS4A) was organized in 1973 to function autonomously within the framework of NYSCSS. It was formed through the efforts of a group of NYSCSS leaders – a group that included some NYSCSS officers.

Membership is open to those NYSCSS members with “responsibilities for social studies curriculum and instructional programs.” The formation of a separate leadership organization for social studies reflects a pattern found in many of the New York State subject area professional associations.

The NYS4A Constitution mandates a strong continuing liaison with NYSCSS in order to maintain communication. Over the years, the two social studies organizations have worked together toward their shared goals for social studies education in New York. The effect has been to double the voice and visibility of social studies educators in New York. The common objectives, but different perspectives, of the two organizations have proven to be particularly effective in promoting social studies.

Join NYS4A!

Want to be updated on information related to Social Studies in New York state?  Please join our Google Group!  Send an email to to be added to the group.

NYS4A Outstanding Social Studies Supervisor Award – Nomination and application forms are due in early January.    Active members of NYS4A are eligible for nomination for this Award.

NYS4A Officers

President: Lisa Kissinger

Vice-President: Terrance McCarthy

Secretary: Joann Peters

Past-President: Katherine DeForge

For access to the NYS4A Constitution, Notes from the Statewide Supervisors Conference Call with NYSED Social Studies Associates (including the recording of the call), minutes for the March 2018 Annual Business Meeting, Executive Committee nominations for 2018-19 and other resources, visit the NYS4A Public Google Drive.

2017-2018 NYS4A Board Members:

New York City Council: Jack Chan (Queens, Manhattan, Kings, Richmond, Bronx)

Long Island Council: Doreen Gordon, Dr. Joseph Lemke (Nassau, Suffolk)

Albany (Capital District) Council: Lisa Kissinger (Saratoga, Montgomery, Schenectady, Schoharie, Albany, Rensselaer, Greene, Fulton)

Syracuse (Central) Council: Kathy DeForge (Oneida, Madison, Cayuga, Jefferson, Cortland, Herkimer, Onondaga, Oswego)

Rochester Council: Stephen LaMorte (Monroe, Livingston)

Buffalo (Niagara) Council: Jonathan Dalbo (Niagara, Erie, Orleans, Wyoming, Genesee)

Westchester Council: Mary Ellen Klock  (Westchester, Putnam, Rockland)

Mid-Hudson Council: Nancy Maguire (Dutchess, Ulster, Orange, Columbia, Sullivan, Delaware)

North Country:  Vicki McCulloch (St. Lawrence, Franklin, Clinton, Essex, Lewis, Hamilton, Warren, Washington)

Southern Tier:  Michael Bartlow (Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Allegany, Steuben, Chemung, Tompkins, Schuyler, Tioga, Broome, Chenango, Otsego)

Western New York: Terry McCarthy (Wayne, Ontario, Yates, Seneca)

NYSED Liaison,  ex-officio



Copyright New York State Council for the Social Studies

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software